ISO 45001 Occupational Health and Safety Management Systems Standard heading to approval

   11 Aug 2017
In 2001, Australia and New Zealand pre-empted the British standard OHSAS 18001:2007 with the introduction of ASNZ4801:2001 (Australian and New Zealand standard).

Both Standards align well with other management systems standards, such as ISO 9001:2008 (Quality Management Systems) and ISO 14001:2004 (Environmental Management Systems).

Typically, companies which operate solely within Australia and New Zealand opt to become certified against AS/NZS 4801:2001, while companies which operate internationally aim for certification under OHSAS 18001:2007. The choice between the two is completely up to the company which is garnering certification, and both are recognised equally within Australia. Many organisations have dual certification as the Standards are very similar.

OHSAS 18001:2007 more clearly defines the roles of:

• Evaluation and compliance

• Incident investigation

• Nonconformity, and corrective and preventive action

• Management review

A requirement in each of these areas is still stipulated within AS/NZS 4801:2001.

AS/NZS 4801 has a more defined process for reporting, health assessment and evaluation of the HIRAC (Hazard Identification, Risk Assessment and Control) process. While these are implied in OHSAS 18001, they are not specifically defined.

As the number of businesses operating globally or interacting with international customers or suppliers has increased, so to the requirement for an international Occupational Health & Safety Management System Standard.

ISO45001 will supersede both AS/NZS 4801 and OHSAS18001

The delivery timeline is approaching approval with expected publication in early 2018.

Related Articles